Batch Update Times

If you want to make the same change to multiple time entries (for example, if you want to approve a list of time entries to be synced to QuickBooks Online), you need to use the Batch Update Times feature. To access this feature, navigate to Manage >  Batch Update Times.

The first screen you see will be Batch Update Times: Set Filters. Here is where you choose which time entries you want to change. You can select the following filters:

  • From Date*Required. The first date in the date range of the time entries you want to make changes to.
  • To Date*Required. The last date in the date range of the time entries you want to make changes to.
  • Company – The customer, vendor, or other company assigned to the time entries you want to make changes to.
  • Assigned To – The team member assigned to the time entries you want to make changes to.
  • Aero Type – The Aero Type assigned to the time entries you want to make changes to.
  • Billable Only – Check this box if you want to filter for only time entries that are marked as billable.
  • NOT Billable Only – Check this box if you want to filter for only time entries that are marked as not billable.
  • Not Synced to QBO – Check this box if you want to filter for only time entries that have not been sent to QuickBooks online.
  • Fixed Fee Only – Check this box if you want to filter for only time entries that are marked as Fixed Fee
  • NOT Fixed Fee Only – Check this boxed to filter for only time entries that are NOT marked as Fixed Fee (will return both Billable and neither Billable nor Fixed Fee)

Once you have set your filters, click the Next button. You will be taken to the Batch Update Times: Make Changes screen. The first section of the screen displays the filter options you chose. The middle section contains the list changes you can make to the time entries, and the bottom section is the list of time entries that match your filters. If you didn’t get quite the right list of times, you can click the Change Filter button to make changes to your filter options.

Batch Update Times Make Changes
You can change the following aspects of the time entries:

  • Change Date – Change the date of the time entries.
  • Change Company – Change the customer, vendor, or other company assigned to the time entries. Select the new company from the dropdown menu.
  • Change Hourly Rate – Change the hourly rate for that time entry.
  • Change Hourly Cost – Change or add a historical cost rate for time entries. That cost rate is used in Project costing reports and is not synced to QBO.
  • Change Class – Change the QuickBooks class assigned to the time entry. Select the new class from the dropdown menu.
  • Change Service Item – Change the QuickBooks service item assigned to the time entry. Select the new service item from the dropdown menu.
  • Change Time Entity – Change the QuickBooks time entity (employee or vendor) assigned to the time entry. Select the new time entity from the dropdown menu.

Batch Update Times - Select time entriesSelect the time entries that you would like to change from the list in the bottom section by checking the box in the left-hand column. To select all of the time entries in the list, check the box in the column header.

Once you have selected the times you want the changes applied to, click the blue Change Selected Times button to apply the changes. The changes you specified will be applied in your Aero account and also be updated in your QBO account at the same time – unless the time entry is marked as “Not Synced” in the far right-hand column.

Batch Update Times - OtherYou can also make changes to the selected time entries from the Other dropdown menu:

  • Mark Selected as Billable – Changes the selected time entries to billable.
  • Mark Selected as Not Billable – Removes the Billable designation from selected time entries
  • Mark Selected as Fixed Fee – Changes the selected time entries to Fixed Fee
  • Mark Selected as Not Fixed Fee – Removes the Fixed Fee designation from selected time entries.
  • Sync Selected to QBO – This option is for time entries that have not previously been synced to your QuickBooks Online account. Choosing this option will sync the selected time entries to QBO.

 

Updated on August 8, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles