Edit a Company

You can find the Company you want to edit on the Manage > Companies screen or possibly on the Work > My Companies screen. Find the company you want to edit and click the blue View button on the left. When the Edit Company screen opens, the fields available for editing are as follows:

Name *Required The name of the company.
Default Contact Choose the name of a default contact from a dropdown list. If the contact does not exist in Aero you can choose Add New to add a new contact.
Default Email The primary email for that company. Select from a dropdown menu. If the email does not exist in Aero, you can choose to add a new email address.
Accounting Software The name of the accounting software the company uses. Choose from the dropdown menu (this list is created in Set Up).
Account Number The account number your firm has assigned to that company.
Phone The main phone number for the company. This does not have to be the same number as the primary contact.
Fax The main fax number for the company.
Default Invoice Aero Type If you plan to use the Progress Invoicing feature with this company, you can select a default Aero Type for the invoices here.
Hourly Billable Rate The billing rate for this client. If you choose Customer as your Billing Rate option under Setup > My Company, all hourly billed services you provide for this customer will be billed at this rate.
Monthly Fixed Fee If you charge this client on a fixed fee basis, you can enter the monthly fee here. The number is used in Aero Reports. It does not sync to QBO and is not used for invoicing.
Type The type of company (Customer, Vendor, Lead, Employee, Owner, Other). If you are syncing to QBO, any company created as a Customer will automatically be added to your QBO file. If you are linked to QBO, once you create a company that is a Customer, you cannot change the Type.
Website The company’s website URL.
Address The company’s full mailing address.
Active You cannot delete a customer, but if you uncheck “Active” they will no longer appear in customer dropdown lists
On Hold Whether or not Aeros and other activities for the company are on hold.
Notes You can enter notes about the company here. These notes will appear in the Company Info tab in the Do Task screen.
Actions The Actions tab give you the ability to start or create new Aeros and Master Aeros for this particular company.
Vault The Vault is where you can securely store client logins and passwords, credit card and bank information, tax id numbers, even a link to a folder on a document management site. Click the Add a new record button to add a new vault entry and click the Save changes button to save it.You can use the sort and filter features of the grid to find a particular Vault entry.
Aeros Click the blue Aeros link at the bottom of the screen to see a grid with all past Aeros and all future scheduled Aeros. You can use the sort and filter features of the grid to find a particular Aero.
Master Aeros Click the blue Master Aeros link to see a list of all Master (recurring) Aeros that are assigned to the company.
Contacts Click the blue Contacts link at the bottom of the screen to see a list of all the contacts associated with the Company. You can add a contact by searching the dropdown menu in the blue header and clicking the Add button. You can also use the Add contact button at the bottom of the screen. Remove a Contact by clicking the blue Remove button to the right of the Contact’s name
Team Members Click the blue Team Members link to see a list of all the Team Members that have been assigned to that Company. Team Members listed here will be able to see and edit this company in their My Companies screen. You can add a Team Member by searching the dropdown menu in the blue header and clicking the Add button. You can also you the Add team member button at the bottom of the screen.  Remove a Team Member by clicking the blue Remove button to the right of the Team Member’s name
Projects Click the blue Projects link to see a list of all projects associated with the Company.

When you are done editing the company, click the blue Save and Close button and you will be returned to the Manage Companies screen. You can click the Close button to close the edit screen without saving.

Updated on March 31, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles